Vincent De Haître shares Canadian silver in World Cup speed skating team sprint event THE OTTAWA CITIZEN, Published on: March 12, 2017

Cumberland’s Vincent De Haître capped his World Cup speed skating season on Sunday with a silver medal in the men’s team sprint at Stavanger, Norway.

De Haître, Olivier Jean of Lachenaie, Que., and Laurent Dubreuil of Lévis, Que. finished the 3,000-metre race with a time of one minute 20.91 seconds, slightly behind first-place Netherlands (1:20.55). A German trio finished third in 1:21.06.

Sunday’s result also allowed Canada to claim the overall World Cup title in men’s team sprint. The roster also included Montreal’s Christopher Fiola.

De Haître had earned a silver medal in the men’s 1,000 metres race at Stavanger on Saturday and also finished second overall in the World Cup standings at that distance for 2016-17.

He also raced Sunday in the 1,500 metres, but placed seventh in 1:47.21. Kjeld Nuis of the Netherlands was first in 1:45.00.

“We knew we would maintain our overall ranking with the way the competition worked out,” De Haître said. “We surprised ourselves a bit with the second-place finish. Our major objective was to see what we could do when the cards were against us. We had a nice smooth race, and we now have an overall victory and a silver medal to show for it, and we are all really happy with that.” 

A trio from Netherlands won the women’s team sprint ahead of Japan and Norway.


Ottawa’s Ivanie Blondin raced to eighth place in the women’s mass-start event to finish third in overall World Cup ranking for the season.


Nao Kodaira of Japan won the women’s 1,500-metre race, but Heather Bergsma of the United States claimed the overall World Cup title for that event.

Event Date: 3/13/2017

Corporate Sponsors

Individual Sponsors

 Individual Sponsors                                                                                                     Francois Cadotte      Carolyn Mountjoy

 Sharon Burgess      Chantal Groulx     Laura  Zaine     Guy Cosette       Serge Drolet               Serge et Colette Letendre     Sandra Coté     Claude Paquette   Hélène Charlebois    Carole Payant   Mrs. Betty Latour     Lynne Bouchard    Ronald & Chantal Bouchard     Gaetan et Diane Potras   Gord McCormick     Lee Hayes     Herb Hart     Gary Patry     Liz McGowan   Suzie Glazer    Marcia Lamb     Nickola Capstick       Jacqueline Dube    Hans Loeffelholz    Alfred Patry    Bernie Lee        

Marc-André Poitras, for creating this website.