Vincent de Haître comes out on top, Cumberland cyclist, speed skater to receive male athlete of the year award published by Orleans News by Brier Dodge

Cumberland athlete Vincent de Haître, who lives and trains in Calgary, was named as the Ottawa male athlete of the year on Jan. 26, a week in advance of the Feb. 1 Ottawa Sports Awards.

It’s the second time the east-end native has won the Male Athlete of the Year award, after receiving the honours in 2014.

De Haître is an Olympian, having represented Canada in speed skating, but also won a national title in track cycling in 2016.

The dual-sport athlete manages to compete and win on the national stage in both of his sports. 

He’s highly ranked on the world stage in speed skating, finishing 2016 with a second place overall ranking in the 1,000 metre race at the World Cup circuit.

“I’m hoping that I can keep up the performances and show that I’m truly dedicated to what I do,” he said in a press release.

In the female athlete of the year category – called the Kristina Groves Female Athlete of the Year award – Stittsville’s Erica Wiebe will be recognized.

The Olympic gold medalist from the Rio Games is also based in Calgary and, like de Haître, is based at the University of Calgary/Canadian Sport Institute Calgary.

“Erica’s performance at the Olympics was nothing short of amazing,” de Haître said. “I’m glad to see another Ottawa athlete perform like that. It makes me proud to be from where I’m from.”

On Jan. 24, Speed Skating Canada named de Haître to its final line up for the fifth ISU World Cup Long Track Speed Skating race scheduled for Jan. 27 to 29 in Berlin, Germany.

Orléans’ Ivanie Blondin was also to compete in Berlin. 

Event Date: 1/26/2017

Corporate Sponsors

Individual Sponsors

 Individual Sponsors                                                                                                     Francois Cadotte      Carolyn Mountjoy

 Sharon Burgess      Chantal Groulx     Laura  Zaine     Guy Cosette       Serge Drolet               Serge et Colette Letendre     Sandra Coté     Claude Paquette   Hélène Charlebois    Carole Payant   Mrs. Betty Latour     Lynne Bouchard    Ronald & Chantal Bouchard     Gaetan et Diane Potras   Gord McCormick     Lee Hayes     Herb Hart     Gary Patry     Liz McGowan   Suzie Glazer    Marcia Lamb     Nickola Capstick       Jacqueline Dube    Hans Loeffelholz    Alfred Patry    Bernie Lee        

Marc-André Poitras, for creating this website.